Training Session: 10/16/13 (Back injury update)

17 Oct
Human back

Well fuck me sideways. This sucks.

For those of you who didn’t know, I injured my back two weeks ago.

Ya really.

I honestly don’t know what it is at this point. But I went from pulling mid-200s for my deficit deadlift sets, to barely being able to pull 135 off the floor. It’s very, very frustrating.

Two weeks ago, I did deficit deadlifts. The next day I was extremely sore, and needed to do heavy squats the day after…so I got some horse liniment and grit my teeth. I managed 260×4 with an extremely sore back. This was a VERY poor move on my part. I think that not only could I have possibly avoided injuring myself if I had lightened up and listened to my body, I could have also gotten a bigger PR…and have been able to go through with my max-out week.

So, I was pretty sore, and I just felt like I had over-taxed myself a bit. But during and after my down week, I noticed that the pain stayed with me and I had lost a LOT of strength in my lower back. Even after resting from squats and deadlifts for 1.5 weeks, I tried to pull 135 again on Monday and only managed 3 reps.

The pain is localized. Nothing shooting, burning, or tingling. It’s in my SI joint area, so lower spine/tailbone. It’s sore, and I do experience pain when there is any pressure.

I won’t know much until I can get an MRI. But because I’m in Canada and our healthcare sucks donkey balls, I won’t be able to get an appointment until at LEAST January, if not March.

All I can do for now is rest it and train around it until it clears up. Very discouraging, but I am trying to not let it get me down. Gotta stay focused and motivated. It’s not the end of the road, just a minor obstacle to get around.

Today’s lower body training…

WARM-UP:

10 minutes incline walking

Hip mobility drills x4

Single-leg Glute Bridges (between two benches) – 20×2 (per leg)

X-band walks – 10×3 (per side)

Banded Clam Shells – 15×2 (per side)

Foam rolling – glutes, lower back

Leg Press (leaning forward to take pressure off the lower back)

1pps x15

2pps x15

3pp x20x3

DB Walking Lunges

30’s x 20 steps x2

Cable Glute Kickbacks

45×10

55×10

65x12x3

50x12x2

Lying Leg Curl

70x12x2

60x12x2

Leg Extensions

90×15

105×12

120x12x2

Backwards Plate Sprints (like sled drags, only harder)

3 plates x 4 rounds

3 Responses to “Training Session: 10/16/13 (Back injury update)”

  1. J.T. October 17, 2013 at 4:56 am #

    Sorry to hear about your injury. I did something similar about a year ago while pulling.

    Do you happen to have access to a reverse hyperextension machine? Ever since I started using one I’ve been able to train heavy deads with zero back pain. Awesome rehab tool.

  2. wendeeb October 17, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Hi. I’m a physical therapist in the States. You sound like you have sacroilitis. Please do not wait until you can be seen to begin taking care of this. A chronically inflammed SI joint is not something you want. You need to decrease the acute swelling and inflammation. Plus there are a few maneuvers that you can do to realign your pelvis. I’m sorry that you can’t have care when you need it.

  3. Joy October 19, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    Christine, I know how frustrating back pain/injury can be! I have dealt on and off w/ it since about your age. What has helped me the most as well as many of my clients (I am a massage therapist and personal trainer) is the work of Pete Egoscue,http://www.egoscue.com/ , Ming Chew, http://www.mingmethod.net/index.htm and Kelly Starrett http://www.mobilitywod.com/. The first 2 have specific protocols for back pain.

    And definitely a good massage therapist to work on trigger points in your glutes and psoas!

    Good luck hope it gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

