Training Update/Rambles: 9/19/13

20 Sep

So to clear up one thing, since I have been asked recently by a few people….

No, I’m not on The Cube anymore.

This isn’t because I thought The Cube was a bad program. Or anything of that sort. It’s because I wanted to try a different style of training.

Personally, I find that I respond best to training programs the beat the living shit out of me. I need to have heavy weight to work with on a weekly basis. Low(er)(ish) percentages just don’t seem to work as well for me.

I realize that this isn’t the method for everyone…however, it has worked for me in the past, and still seems to work for me now.

At the moment, I am working together with my friend/mentor Alyssa Smith. She has been helping me get stronger every day, and I’m amazed at how much more I can push myself, and how much stronger I have gotten over the last 2-3 months.

(For those who don’t know who she is, the video below should clear things up…)

Today I was supposed to do a lighter bench session, but it didn’t quite go as planned…I am experiencing some clavicle/shoudler pain, which I think may be due to tight pec minors and some shoulder slippage on the bench. I did a bit of light assistance work, and stretched/did yoga for about a half hour and called it a day.

BODY STATS/DIET UPDATE:

I’m currently fluctuating between 133 and 135 lbs on an average day. Glutes have gained another half inch (wut wut!!), probably due to all the crazy high volume squats I’ve been doing.

…Probably.

I have noticed that I am feeling a lot stronger since my choice to add fish back into my diet. I’m not going to attribute it entirely to that (I am also eating more than I was when I was vegan), but I do feel somewhat better, despite some pre-existing, nagging health issues.

In theory, I do miss veganism. But I am glad to have made different choices that will coincide as much as possible with my beliefs, as well as not take away from my training.

——–

Very heavy squats tomorrow. Videos to follow. And a post regarding high vs. low bar squatting is going up this weekend. Yup yup.

I’m excited. And nervous. And…hunrgy.

I should eat something.

MontyPythonMrFatAss

3 Responses to “Training Update/Rambles: 9/19/13”

  1. Oscar September 23, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I was sad to learn about your embracing veganism. I liked your old post about “All You Need To Build Yourself a Proper Ass”. Reading your recent posts I thought you should read The Vegetarian Myth, written by a former vegan who embraced eating animals after 20 years of strict veganism.

    • thecookiemonster October 1, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

      I have heard lots of things about it. I might sometime.

  2. Billy Pruz October 4, 2013 at 12:11 am #

    Very interesting to have begun following you on IG and watched your switch off of veganism while I have been grappling with similar feelings. Would like to hear more about your decision if you have a chance to chat this weekend. All the best.

Leave a Reply

