Training: 3/21/13

22 Jun

Just a light lower body sesh today.

Pause Squats (3 sec):

bar x bunch

95×5

135×6 (Lulz, forgot I wasn’t supposed to rep em out.)

135x10x2

Good-Mornings:

95×10

105×10

115x2x10

Seated Box Jumps:

23″ – 5×5

Plyo Split Squats:

4×12 (per leg)

Ab Wheel:

3×8 (on knees)

NOTES:

So I learned two things from today’s session…

  1. I need a higher box for jumps.
  2. My ab strength seriously sucks.

Like really.

I have been really neglecting core work over the past year. Bad. Definitely something I need to improve upon during my (very) extended off-season.

On another note, here’s a progress before-and-after I made today. Because sometimes I need a reminder of how far I have come. I look in the mirror and tell myself that I am small and need to improve, but fail to remember where I started…and then I can see that hard work has paid off!!

squatttttssss

The before picture (left) was taken after my first bulk, just one month before I decided to start prepping for my first figure competition. I weighed 127 lbs. when I started dieting. The after picture (right) was taken today. Only 5 lbs. heavier, but with MUCH more muscle AND leaner.

Lots of heavy squatting and not being afraid to EAT is what helped me put size on my lower body!! Prior to the picture on the left when I started exercising in general I had almost ZERO glutes (cause ya know, I thought big bums were gross!). I’ve built them up over the course of four years, but am definitely not stopping here. My legs have grown several inches as well. It’s all about food, heavy weights, and consistency. Fear none of those, and you WILL progress, I promise!! ❤

4 Responses to “Training: 3/21/13”

  1. Sarahi June 22, 2013 at 3:37 am #

    ZOMG what is ur secret to get those glutts girl!!?

    • Sarahi June 22, 2013 at 3:38 am #

      Verry good job by the way! It seems that you have come a looong way =]

  2. fitchick999 June 22, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    I use to read your blog all of the time but then life got busy. In January/February I decided to check in and see what you were up to. You had a recent post about glute activation and Bret Contreras. I read it, found it interesting and then moved on; however, I kept coming back to your post for the next couple of weeks and then I started reading and watching all of Bret’s stuff. I’ve been working out with Bret for 4 months now and the back pain I’ve dealt w/ for the past 3 years has gone (due to properly activating and strengthening my glutes) and I’m becoming one of the “strong” girls which I had always sat back and watched but never believed I would become one myself. Thanks for putting out useful information in your blog posts! You are an inspiration with your training and attitude. Thanks for sharing it with us. Keep up the good work. Best wishes in your training!

  3. Cheryl @ Lift. Love. Laugh June 25, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    WHOA awesome glutes!!!!! I love that you’re so positive about wanting a big butt now LOL!

Leave a Reply

