Getting My Head Back in The Game

10 May

tumblr_mjq0m2CUt21qjm9bpo1_500

Have you ever had a trait that could double up as a blessing and a curse?

I am an extremist. And at times I feel like it can either propel me forward because of having strong will to do things and not wanting to back down, and other times it can set me pretty far back, since I also have the ability to be an extreme cynic, or use all my energy in a negative fashion.

I take my training to the extreme. But I am also very hard on myself, and when something goes wrong, I do have the tendency to beat myself up about it for quite some time.

I need to be able to distinguish when it is and is not an appropriate situation to get worked up. If it’s for negative reasons it’s almost never good. Extremity needs to be had in limited dosages at the right times, or it can really get out of hand and take your eyes off the big picture.

Needless to say, I need to get my head straight again.

Even now, admittedly, I am in a bad mood. But rather than continuing to get worked up by it, I am going to focus my energy on different things. I have less than 5 weeks left until I am back on the platform again, and I will not let my negative side get the best of me.

The important thing to keep in mind, I think, is that no one is perfect. Everyone fucks up, and everyone has bad days. But if we always fell to pieces every time we fucked up or had a shittastic day, we would never get anywhere. You can’t win a race if you are crumpled on the ground, and you can’t take charge of your life by sitting on the couch and crying about different areas in which you went wrong.

Get up, get dressed, make yourself a cup of coffee, and own your fucking day.

That is all.

2 Responses to “Getting My Head Back in The Game”

  1. Matt Douglas May 11, 2013 at 12:10 am #

    Fuck Ya! Thanks made my day, you remind me of a more wise version of myself.

  2. Vanessa May 13, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    I feel like I wrote this, same language and all, it’s nice to know I am not the only one who struggles with being too hard on myself. Great post

Leave a Reply

