Training, Plus Stretch Demo Videos

16 Mar

Hello all! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful week!

I had mentioned on my page a couple of days ago that I would do a couple videos of some different stretches you could do for the lower back and well as loosening up the hips prior to lower body training and/or post-training stretches.

I didn’t film as many as I wanted to today, but I will try to get a couple more video demonstrations soon. For now, here are the two I did get around to.

Lower back stretches:

DESCRIPTION:

Stretches to relieve stress in the lower back. Preferably done post-training, and hold each stretch for at least 30 seconds.

Basically, bring your upper body up high, keeping your hips on the mat/ground until you get a good stretch. Breathe deep and exhale as you are moving into the “release” stretch with your chest on your knees. Repeat a few times.

Hip mobility:

DESCRIPTION:

Here is a simple routine I do before all my lower body training sessions. Hip flexor stretch into pigeon, and a cossack. Sometimes I will do the cossack first and then have it flow into the other movements.

Each position is only hold for a couple of seconds before it is switched. Unless you are doing post-training stretching, do NOT hold these positions for long since you should not be doing static stretching before lifting weights.

Training from today…

Squats:

bar x bunch

95×5

135×3

165×2

185×8

Vid: (bad form; see notes)

Wide-Stance Good Mornings:

95×5

115×3

140x3x8 (5 lbs. up from last week)

DB Bulgarian Split Squats:

20’s x3x15

Burn-out Squat (see notes)

130 x20

Planks:

3 x 1:15

NOTES:

Form was not very good on my squats today. I was not on my heels enough and they came off the ground a few times. Also need to tuck my elbows down more and CONCENTRATE!! Olympic squat shoes would help. Need to save for some of those before my meet in June.

The burn-out squats were actually supposed to go to failure but I felt my pre-workout meal coming up my throat by the time I hit 20 (whoops!) so I stopped, haha. Had much more in me though.

Needless to say, that is the last time I will be eating so close to a squat session. I should have learned my lesson!

Some progress shots:

3-year back progress!

Stretch training post-squats. Back flexibility has improved.

Stretch training post-squats. Back flexibility has improved.

3 Responses to “Training, Plus Stretch Demo Videos”

  1. Alison LaRue March 16, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Hi,

    I’m just getting into PL after CrossFitting for a couple of years. You are an inspiration to me, and others I’m sure. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and the vids.

    Ali

  2. Jim March 18, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    Hi Christine,
    Thank you so much for sharing your videos…the are great!

    Jim

Leave a Reply

